High school students honored and security staff introduced at board of education meeting

High school students honored and security staff introduced at board of education meeting

Twelve national merit scholar semifinalists were recognized, and a security presentation
was among the items of business presented at the Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, September 26.

During the regular public meeting at the Wade Administration Building, Superintendent Bob Beers cited the 12 Bridgewater-Raritan High School students who are among the top one percent of the highest scores achieved on the PSAT by all high seniors throughout
the United States.

Superintendent Beers and Steve Singer, the President of the Board of Education,
presented each with a certificate of their achievement.

Here are the 12 Bridgewater-Raritan High School National Merit Scholarship Program

Sudarshan P. Ganapathy
Meera P. Gharat
Gracelynne Hao
Christine Hu
Jonathan F.Jentis
Vi-An N. Nguyen
Eric Z. Shao
Dhruv N. Viswanathan
Derek S. Wang
Kevin Y Wang
Ryan Wen
Vanshika Yadav

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2024 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and running through July.

Following his superintendent's report was a presentation on the school district’s security unit.

Mike Voorhees, the Coordinator of School Security, and Ted Lewis, the Assistant Coordinator of School Security, spoke about the 16-man staff and the roles and procedures they perform daily.

The superintendent report also included the annual HIB (Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying) Self-Assessment presented by Alan Iachini, the Supervisor of School Counseling.

In other business during the superintendent report, Dr. Dan Fonder, who is the Assistant Superintendent for Personnel, announced that it was Human Resources Day on September 26. Hence, he took the opportunity to speak about the school district’s
Human Resources department and the tasks that these staff members excel at.